Things get chilly in the gaggle

Tony Snow

I love Tony Snow.

I loved him on Fox News, I loved him on Fox Radio, I loved him when he would fill in for Rush Limbaugh. I was sorry when he announced he had cancer, I was glad when he returned to work, and I was concerned at how thin he looked.

When I heard he was being considered for (and considering) the position of Press Secretary for President Bush, I hoped it wouldn't happen.

I just didn't want to "give him up". He was one of the few commentators/hosts that could get to the point without seeming rude. He was able to tell a guest (or caller) to cut the crap without sounding demeaning or dismissive — unless absolutely necessary, anyway.

It appears he is still doing just that.

“The New York Times continues to ignore America’s economic progress,”

“CBS News misleadingly reports that only 8 million seniors have signed up for Medicare prescription drug coverage,”

“USA Today claims ‘poor, often minority’ Medicare beneficiaries are not enrolling in Medicare drug coverage,” the press office complained. “But by April, more than 70 percent of eligible African Americans, more than 70 percent of eligible Hispanics, and more than 75 percent of eligible Asian Americans are enrolled or have retiree drug coverage.”

See the full story here

I say, 'bout time. I don't know why President Bush and staff have let the media run the show for this long. The main stream media have, by and large, reported what they wanted in order to influence public opinion. It has worked for six years. Enough already. It makes me angry (and very suspicious) when the media, politicians, et. al,.assume that I am gullible enough to blindly follow the piper.

If we could only get the rest of the Bush Administration – and the (majority party) Republicans to follow suit.

Onward to battle, Tony!

Powered By Qumana

Leave a comment

Filed under 'bout Time

Leave a Reply

