Shut up and act (if you can)….

So another ‘celebrity’ has weighed in on just how bad we Americans are…and of course, it’s an American.

Gwyneth Paltrow has opened her pie-hole again, stating:

“I love the English lifestyle, it’s not as capitalistic as America. People don’t talk about work and money, they talk about interesting things at dinner,” she told “NS,” the weekend magazine supplement of daily Portuguese newspaper Diario de Noticias on Saturday.

“I don’t fit into the bad side of American psychology. The British are much more intelligent and civilized than the Americans. I love the English lifestyle. I’m not as capitalistic as America.”

Several hours later, of course, she reneged saying:

“First of all I feel so lucky to be American. When you look at the rest of the world, we’re so lucky, and that’s something my dad always instilled in me,” Paltrow tells PEOPLE. “I feel so proud to be American.”

“I felt so upset to be completely misconstrued and I never, ever would have said that,” says the 34-year-old Oscar winner. “I definitely did not say that I think the British are more intelligent and civilized than Americans. I am a New York girl, that’s how I always think of myself and see myself.”

Okie dokie Gwynnie.

I’ve never been a Paltrow fan.  I think her head in a box in Se7en was her finest acting moment, but I digress.  Perhaps she was telling the truth about being misinterpretted, I don’t know.  I do know she’s also said this:

“Last year, I just had a baby and thought, I don’t want to live there. Bush’s anti-enviornment, pro-war policies are a disgrace.”

“I worry about bringing up a child in America. At the moment there is a wierd over-patriotic atmosphere over there like–We’re number one and the rest of the world doesn’t matter.”

I also seem to remember she stocked up on supplies (including the low supply and by prescription only drug Cipro) during the anthrax scare.

She also earned a reported $750,000 for Shakespeare in Love.  She earned $10,000,000 (that’s ten million dollars) for View from the Top (which, I have to say, I have never heard of).   She also reported purchased a $1.26 million luxury apartment in London in 2002 – before marriage and kids.  She and her husband, Chris Martin, purchased a home in 2004 for a reported $5.7 million.

Glad she’s not capitalistic or anything.

Paltrow grew up with  famous and wealthy parents – Bruce Paltrow and Blythe Danner.  I doubt she ‘struggled’ for much in her life.  But whether she has or hasn’t, she certainly has not lived with ‘normal’ folks.  Most people in my world don’t talk about money (it’s considered rude).  We do talk about work, because it’s part of our life.  ‘What’d you do at work today, honey?’  ‘How’s your job going, Tom?’ ‘Are you going back to work after you have the baby, Nancy?’ We also do not feel being patriotic is “weird”.  Far more of us than not believe we have what we do because of those who have and do fight for our constitution and way of life.

Perhaps the look-down-her-nose attitude that Paltrow has is more a reflection of the people she grew up around and chose to associate with as an adult than the ‘typical’ American.

Come on over for dinner sometime Gwynnie.  We won’t talk about our work if you don’t talk about yours.  We won’t talk about money if you don’t.  We can talk about new roofs, and kitchen renovations.  We can gossip about Brad and Angelina and Jen.

I’ll make steak & kidney pie and pull you a Guiness.


Leave a comment

Filed under Duct tape zone, Entertainment

Leave a Reply

