The alternate reality of Iraq

I’m sick and tired of the portrayal of our servicemen and women as being some sort of barbaric, blood-thirsty thugs. I’m sick and tired of the portrait being painted of the Iraq mission as being an invasion, occupation, a war for oil, etc., etc.

I’m not simple enough to think I can do much, but I can do a little. I plan on scouring the internet to find stories and photos of positive changes we’re making in the world. I’m fully aware that these won’t be published by the Main Stream Media (not even by Fox News, which I am very disappointed about). I vow to find ’em and post ’em.

If you or someone you know wishes to submit such photos or commentary, please give me a shout at breakingpointwp@yahoo.com

This photo is dated Wednesday, February 14, 2007.

Greetings

The caption reads:

A US soldier from the 5th Battalion, 20th Infantry Regiment of the Second Infantry Division greets a child in the Shaab neighborhood of Baghdad, Iraq Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2007 during a house-to-house search.

Who is showing the American people this images? No one! Why? There are a thousand different reasons.

I’m proud of these men and women. They deserve better than they’ve gotten from us.

3 Comments

Filed under In the news, Media, Politicians, War and Peace

3 responses to “The alternate reality of Iraq

  1. Amy

    i wonder is it possible to support our troops yet not support the war? i mean i have an uncle who’s been in the Mariens (sp?) for years and one of my dads best friends is over there right now. but i feel like they shouldn’t have to be there.

  2. juniper quin

    Hello!
    Thanks for posting this picture – it is indeed very thought-provoking. News agencies ARE biased, but that doesn’t mean that there is no grain of truth in what they’re saying (that is, that the Iraq war is political and financial suicide for good ol’ Georgie). I personally do not agree with the war, considering that 1) it’s still uncertain as to whether 9/11 was orchestrated by the USA government, and 2) American troops have killed many more civilians in Iraq and Afghanistan compared with the number of American lives that were lost on 9/11. Yes, the war IS partially motivated by oil. That part should be obvious. However, if American troops are supposed to be helping Iraq into a fledgling democracy, it’s not working. And it hasn’t been working for years. This is what’s disheartening. The ineffectuality, and then senseless loss of life, no matter what the nationality. The Iraq war deeply saddens me. I do think that First World countries have an obligation to poorer countries for humanitarian reasons, but I do NOT agree at ALL with military troops being sent in on the offensive. What happened to peacekeeping?

    PS – feel free to email me a response/angry rant/etc. 🙂

  3. frank

    It is very easy to separate the people in the service, as they have voluntarily enlisted to help with the preservation of our country, from the war, an invasion that was justified by the use of falsehoods (a war crime). As a Vet I am disgusted by my fellow citizens that continue to allow this abomination to continue and as a Vet I want to be there to help my brothers and sisters.

    Beyond this some of these politicians have repeatedly refer to themselves as Christians and on even claimed that God has spoken to him. I do so hope that if my time comes first I will be allowed to watch as these people step before Peter.

Leave a Reply

