Mr. Do As I Say…

Better to be known as a sinner than a hypocrite. Proverb

The only thing worse than a liar is a liar that’s also a hypocrite! Tennessee Williams

I didn’t like John Edwards four years ago, and I do not like him now. If it wasn’t important to me to keep the language in this blog clean, I could accentuate this point with a name or two which I believe describe him – you know what I mean.

EdwardsThis is the Two Americas guy. This is the guy who made millions as an attorney – a personal injury attorney, arguing big money cases.

A Washington Times story in 2004 describes one of his tactics:

Linking complications during childbirth to cerebral palsy became a specialty for Mr. Edwards. In the courtroom, he was known to dramatize the events at birth by speaking to jurors as if he were the unborn baby, begging for help, begging to be let out of the womb.

“He was very good at it,” said Dr. John Schmitt, an obstetrician and gynecologist who used to practice in Mr. Edwards’ hometown of Raleigh. “But the science behind a lot of his arguments was flawed.”

The story explains how because of personal injury/medical malpractice suits filed by John Edwards and his ilk, the health care situation in North Carolina is in crisis. Read that story here.

And now, Mr. Two Americas has done it again.

In an interview with Beliefnet.com, Edwards says that Jesus would be outraged, nay, appalled by “our” selfishness.

Q. What parts of American life do you think would most outrage Jesus?

Edwards: Our selfishness. Our resort to war when it’s not necessary. I think that Jesus would be disappointed in our ignoring the plight of those around us who are suffering and our focus on our own selfish short-term needs. I think he would be appalled, actually.

Now, that “our” is you and me, and of course, George Bush and Dick Cheney. No, he didn’t specifically call us by name, but later, in the interview, Edwards says this about his wife (Elizabeth) and himself:

“And back to your question about Jesus and what he would be most disappointed in, what we’re doing to meet the needs of those around us. I’m not for a minute suggesting we are saints or we have done more than a lot of other people have done, but Elizabeth and I have spent a lot of time building a couple of learning centers for low-income kids who need a place to use technology, made college scholarships available, helped build houses for people who don’t have houses, helped with humanitarian needs in Africa. Those are some of the causes–I’m sure I’m forgetting some–that we have been personally committed to, both before we got in politics and since that time. So, do I think we’ve done everything we could do? No. I don’t think anybody does. But I think Jesus would be happy with some of the things we’ve done.”

Well, so Jesus is happy with him. It’s apparently the rest of us that Jesus is outraged & appalled with.

Of course, that does bring to mind the 28,200 square foot home set on 102-acres that Edwards has built for himself, his wife and their two youngest children.

Edwards Home

The structure(s) include:

  • A main house totalling 10,400 square feet
  • Two garages
  • A recreation building, a red, barn-like building containing 15,600 square feet. The recreation building contains a basketball court, a squash court, two stages, a bedroom, kitchen, bathrooms, swimming pool, a four-story tower, and a room designated “John’s Lounge.”
  • A 2,200 square foot ‘breezeway’
  • A 600-square-foot bedroom and bath area above the guest garage.

It really is two Americas…and John Edwards does not live in mine. For a whole host of reasons (from his voting record, to his holier-than-thou attitude) I am glad Mr. Edwards does not live in my world.

As a conservative, as a Christian and as someone who gets up every day, goes to work and does the best for my family that I can, I’m getting a little tired about being slapped in the face for the things I am, I believe in and that I do.

I don’t have any expectation of making $38 million dollars off the suffering of others.  I don’t have any desire to criticize others after ensuring that ‘I’ve got mine’.

These guys are all the same.  They take money and make money and slam the middle class about not doing enough while they are building their mansions.

Since Mr. Edward is thisclose to Jesus, I’m sure he knows this scripture:

Luke 21:1-4 (New Living Translation)

New Living Translation (NLT)Holy Bible. New Living Translation copyright © 1996, 2004 by Tyndale Charitable Trust. Used by permission of Tyndale House Publishers.

Luke 21

The Widow’s Offering

1 While Jesus was in the Temple, he watched the rich people dropping their gifts in the collection box. 2 Then a poor widow came by and dropped in two small coins.[a]

3 “I tell you the truth,” Jesus said, “this poor widow has given more than all the rest of them. 4 For they have given a tiny part of their surplus, but she, poor as she is, has given everything she has.”

2 Comments

Filed under In the news

2 responses to “Mr. Do As I Say…

  1. Amy

    thats what pisses me off about most politicins. and those “Celebrity” activists piss me off for the same reason, plus they think they have the right because they are so well known.

    lets just say i havn’t seen any Sean Penn movies in a loooooooooooooooong time.

    whats funny is not that i’m not part of either party. not by choice though, neither one wants me. i find ways to piss em’ both off. lol.

  2. Amy

    by the way, that picture you put on here of him looks really creepy. i think after looking at that picture and reading this, i’m going to be a little frightened of John Edwards. lol

Leave a Reply

